Poison Ivy: 5

Nightshade is an enigma of a child.

b-5

She grew into an evil child. You would think I would have some control over that, that I would be able to choose or something, but for a Creator I have very little power. I can tell my Chosen how to behave, what to do, where to go. But as for everything else, I don’t have much control. Maybe I should call myself the Puppeteer instead of the Creator…

Nah, that’d just confuse everyone.

Anyway, Nightshade, for all that’s she meant to be this bastion of evil, isn’t really living up to the name so far. She’s more been acting on her Whiz Kid aspiration—playing introspectively with toys, chatting with her sister, hanging out with her mother.

b-6

b-14

b-33

b-34

Look at her little face. So innocent looking, so sweet. So focused on her pony. You’d never suspect, as an outside observer, that her personality would make her more inclined to stab you than to help you off the floor.

Maybe it’s because she’s still a child. Her natural childhood inclinations have mellowed her, keeping the malicious tendencies at bay.

It’s surprising, honestly, especially considering the men that Juniper has over. If she wanted an outlet outside of her family, there was plenty of opportunity.

b-41

b-43

And, truly, there was plenty of reason for her to be angry with her mother as well. There was no subtly there, no shame. I think it was Juniper’s way of forgetting about Don, who was still languishing in the pool shed out back. But really, she could have handled it a bit more appropriately.

b-45

b-46

The poor twins couldn’t even make it to their bedroom; they just hovered in the kitchen like that, until their mother had finished with Sergio Romeo and discovered that she was pregnant by him.

b-51

I just don’t understand. Why don’t you seem evil, Nightshade?

b-52
“What? Who’s there?”

Oops. Ignore me, dear girl. You don’t need to speak to me, yet.

As I said, she’s an enigma. Sharp as a tack, you’d think she were a genius instead of evil.

b-57

b-69

Maybe I should be glad. An evil child would probably be difficult to deal with, and maybe turn poor Juniper further away from me than she is already. I’m a little worried about her—she’s too guilt-ridden at the moment, trying to drown herself in woohooing and romance so that she forgets her secret out back. She’ll regret it if she decides to turn away from me; but, for the moment, I’m hoping that it won’t come to that. She’s pregnant now, she has the joy of new life to focus on.

Wait.

b-73

Where are you going, little Nightshade?

b-74
“None of your business, voice in my head.”

Everything’s my business, little one, especially in your life. Ask your mother. She’ll tell you.

How’d you know Don was back here? What are you doing??

b-75
“I’m just going to insult him a little. What an idiot, getting stuck in a trap this simple.”

Oh?

b-76
“Mom was so transparent about it; it was obvious what she was going to do with him once she started hanging on him and hugging him in the kitchen.”
b-77
“Should I be worried that I’m talking to a voice in my head?”

No, I’d say not. Actually, you should feel blessed. Not many get to talk to me directly.

b-78
“Okay.”

b-79

…she called him quite a few names. I hadn’t known her vocabulary was that… extensive. Maybe she learned them at school.

Or, no, she probably learned them while listening to her mother in bed. Juniper really needed a master bedroom, if she wanted to continue wooing and woohooing without inhibition.

I guess that explains why Nightshade never appears evil to anyone else. She’s been taking out her pent up malice on Don.

I almost feel bad for the man.

But he’s going to die anyway. Better him than Juniper or Rosary, yeah?

b-80

Shout all you want, Don. She might come back, but she’s not letting you out.

 

Leave a Reply

